Falling to Earth

Book by: Tom Gualtieri & David Sisco
Lyrics by: Tom Gualtieri
Music by: David Sisco

This chamber musical retells the story of Pygmalion & Galatea through a skewed, contemporary lens. In ancient Cyprus, Pygmalion is frustrated by interference from both his lusty friend and a mysterious serving girl. He turns his attention toward his work but soon discovers that his creation has a life and story of her own. When a beautiful but neurotic Venus brings the statue to life, all the characters are forced to let go of their once secure notions of life, love, and self.

    Act One

    • Invocation Orchestra & Mysterious Voices
    • That's What I see Paphos & Pygmalion
    • Do the Best You Can Venus
    • Run Away Pygmalion & Galatea
    • Something Happened/What Happens All
    • Just Another Serving Girl Paphos
    • Better Than Venus Venus
    • Something More Galatea
    • The Judgment & The Appeal/ w/Paphos’ Song Venus & Paphos
    • What Happens (Reprise) Pygmalion & Galatea

    Act Two

    • Things in Cyprus Galatea
    • Paphos’ Song (Venus Reprise) Venus
    • Harder Than it Seems All
    • You Don’t Know Love Venus
    • I Saw You In the Stone Pygmalion
    • Let Me Go Galatea
    • The New Commission Venus

    Click icon to hear a brief excerpt of select songs.